Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Rule 81.  SCHEDULING OUT-OF-CLASS EXAMINATIONS

Instructors wishing to schedule examinations outside of normal class periods for a course that doesn’t meet the criterion of common examinations (see rule 80) may request out-of-class examinations.  Officially scheduled class meetings, including lectures, labs, and studios, and common exams have priority over out-of-class examinations.

Departments may schedule up to four out-of-class examinations at a fixed time for undergraduate (100-400-level) courses.  Out-of-class examination periods must be scheduled at the following time blocks:

Monday and Friday: 7:00 to 8:00 a.m.; 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.; and 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: 7:00 to 8:00 a.m.; 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.; and 8:00 to 10:00 p.m.

One class period shall be omitted to compensate for each out-of-class examination given.  A class period lost to Labor Day, Veterans Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Presidents Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day holiday(s), and/or any other class day omitted from the academic calendar may be counted toward this compensation.  

Instructors wishing to schedule out-of-class examinations may submit the request beginning the first week of the term.  The scheduling priority will be common examination times followed by out-of-class examination on a space-available basis.  Except as noted for common examinations as per Rule 80, Rule 81 applies to any out-of-class examination scheduled to be taken at a fixed start and end time, including online examinations.

In cases where an alternate time may be needed to accommodate conflicts, instructors may contact the Registrar’s Office for that additional scheduling.

 

Process for requesting Out-of-Class Exams

Requests for Out-of-Class exams may be submitted beginning the first week of the term.

Departments may schedule up to four out-of-class examinations at a fixed time for undergraduate (100-400-level) courses.  Out-of-class examination periods may be scheduled at the following time blocks:

Monday and Friday: 7:00 to 8:00 a.m.; 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.; and 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: 7:00 to 8:00 a.m.; 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.; and 8:00 to 10:00 p.m.

Please submit these requests through the Event Scheduling website.  An email confirmation will be sent once the request is completed.

Instructions on how to submit an Out-of-Class Exam event request can be found by clicking here.

 

Fall 2019 - Available Dates and Times   Spring 2019 - Available Dates and Times
September October November   January February March April

 

Fall 2019 - Available Dates and Times
September 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Monday, September 2
Labor Day - No Exams
Tuesday, September 3

  M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, September 4
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, September 5
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, September 6
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, September 9         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, September 10     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, September 11     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, September 12     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, September 13         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, September 16     MBIOS 440/540-01   Tu, W, Th Only   E E 261-02   Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, September 17     M, F Only   ANIM SCI 440-01;
CE 436-01
  M, F Only    
Wednesday, September 18     M, F Only   E E 261-01   M, F Only    
Thursday, September 19
    M, F Only       M, F Only   MGTOP 215-01, 02
Friday, September 20         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, September 23         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, September 24     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, September 25     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, September 26     M, F Only   STAT 370-02   M, F Only   MGTOP 215-03
Friday, September 27         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, September 30
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
                   
October 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 1
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, October 2
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, October 3
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, October 4
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, October 7
CHE 450-01       Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, October 8
    M, F Only       M, F Only   MGTOP 340-01
Wednesday, October 9
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, October 10     M, F Only       M, F Only   MGTOP 340-02;
MGTOP 340-03, 04
Friday, October 11         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, October 14         Tu, W, Th Only   E E 264-02   Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, October 15     M, F Only   ANIM SCI 440-01   M, F Only    
Wednesday, October 16     M, F Only   E E 261-01   M, F Only    
Thursday, October 17     M, F Only   CHE 301-01   M, F Only   MGTOP 470-01;
MGTOP 215-01, 02
Friday, October 18         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, October 21     MBIOS 440/540-01   Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, October 22     M, F Only   CE 436-01   M, F Only    
Wednesday, October 23     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, October 24     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, October 25         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, October 28         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, October 29
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, October 30     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, October 31     M, F Only       M, F Only    
                   
November 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Friday, November 1
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, November 4
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, November 5
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, November 6
    M, F Only       M, F Only   MGTOP 340-01
Thursday, November 7
    M, F Only   STAT 370-02   M, F Only    
Friday, November 8
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, November 11 Veteran's Day - No Exams
Tuesday, November 12     M, F Only   ANIM SCI 440-01   M, F Only    
Wednesday, November 13     M, F Only   E E 261-01   M, F Only    
Thursday, November 14     M, F Only       M, F Only   MGTOP 340-02;
MGTOP 340-03, 04
Friday, November 15         Tu, W, Th Only   E E 261-02   Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, November 18
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, November 19
    M, F Only   CE 436-01   M, F Only    
Wednesday, November 20
    M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, November 21     M, F Only   CHE 301-01   M, F Only    
Friday, November 22
        Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only

 

Spring 2019 - Available Dates and Times
January 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King Jr. Day - No Exams
Tuesday, January 22
  M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, January 23     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, January 24     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, January 25         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, January 28         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, January 29     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, January 30     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, January 31     M, F Only       M, F Only    
                   
February 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Friday, February 1         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, February 4         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, February 5     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, February 6     M, F Only   ACCTG 330-02   M, F Only    
Thursday, February 7     M, F Only       M, F Only   MBIOS 450-01
MGTOP 215-01, 03, 04
Friday, February 8         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, February 11         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, February 12     M, F Only   MBIOS 414-01   M, F Only    
Wednesday, February 13     M, F Only   ANIM SCI 408-01   M, F Only    
Thursday, February 14     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, February 15         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, February 18 President's Day - No Exams
Tuesday, February 19     M, F Only   E E 261-02   M, F Only    
Wednesday, February 20     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, February 21     M, F Only   MGTOP 340-01   M, F Only    
Friday, February 22         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, February 25         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, February 26     M, F Only   MGTOP 340-02   M, F Only    
Wednesday, February 27     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, February 28     M, F Only       M, F Only    
                   
March 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Friday, March 1         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, March 4         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, March 5     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, March 6     M, F Only   ACCTG 330-02;
MGTOP 340-03;
MATH 220-01-03
  M, F Only    
Thursday, March 7     M, F Only   MGTOP 470-01;
CHE 334-01;
ACCTG 330-03
  M, F Only   MGTOP 215-01, 03, 04
Friday, March 8         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, March 18         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, March 19     M, F Only   E E 261-02   M, F Only    
Wednesday, March 20     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, March 21     M, F Only   CE 322-01;
E E 492-01
  M, F Only   MBIOS 450-01
Friday, March 22         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, March 25         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, March 26     M, F Only   MBIOS 414-01   M, F Only    
Wednesday, March 27     M, F Only   ANIM SCI 408-01;
CE 463-01
  M, F Only    
Thursday, March 28     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Friday, March 29         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
                   
April 2019
  7:00 - 8:00 a.m.   5:00 - 7:00 p.m.   6:00 - 8:00 p.m.   7:00 - 9:00 p.m.   8:00 - 10:00 p.m.
Monday, April 1         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, April 2     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Wednesday, April 3     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, April 4     M, F Only   MGTOP 340-01   M, F Only    
Friday, April 5         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, April 8     MGTOP 340-03;
ACCTG 330-02
  Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, April 9     M, F Only   MGTOP 340-02   M, F Only    
Wednesday, April 10     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, April 11     M, F Only   CHE 334-01   M, F Only    
Friday, April 12         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Monday, April 15         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only
Tuesday, April 16     M, F Only   E E 261-02   M, F Only    
Wednesday, April 17     M, F Only       M, F Only    
Thursday, April 18     M, F Only       M, F Only   MBIOS 450-01
Friday, April 19         Tu, W, Th Only       Tu, W, Th Only

 

Washington State University